top of page
  • Uma Chandrasekar

Reading or Writing ?

With an uncluttered mind and the will to finish off things in the best possible way, you can do justice to both reading and writing.


Come rain or shine, writing is my game any day. In this blog however, I would like to point out a few things about reading, which in fact set my mind to love and beautify the language with the power of writing. Needless to say, reading is one hell of a great habit. It is the basic tool to cement our command over the language.


Reading brushes up our knowledge without even us being aware of our brain being upgraded with the latest version. Reading does have its own benefits.


And so does writing. For me writing is like my own blood. My own creation. My responsibility. My one and only love. My baby. With every single work of mine, I feel that I am falling more and more in love with the art.


To the disagreement of many, here’s my analyzation. While writing requires a lot of time to be satisfied with the end product we are crafting, comparatively reading consumes less time, but the disadvantage is that it’s not our work that we are investing our time on, though the time spent is worth the shot. Yes I am being biased towards writing. Because I have experienced the utmost joy of writing.


You get to create your own little world. You get to create your own characters. You can lament. You can brag. You can pour out your heart. You feel liberated. And when you finish a piece of writing, trust me you would feel cleansed.


Wordplays, metaphors, satire… you never know where your writing would lead you. Writing surprises you. You may think about million stuffs to write about, but the moment when you start writing, your brain picks up a jet speed and gives you not million, but zillion ideas.


But the beauty of writing too has a condition. Unlike reading which can be done in your free time or whenever you want, you can’t just sit down and start writing. You should have that perfect state of mind to even jot a single sentence.


If you just sit around just for the sake of writing, you may not even be able to complete one satisfactory paragraph in roughly around five hours. However, the same paragraph, with the right frame of mind wouldn’t even take an hour to finish that too catering to your contentment to the fullest.


When I started writing for the first time, which was an article for a newspaper, all I thought about was the given subject. The prerequisite had a cap of 500-1000 words. With no motivation to write, I scribbled a few lines and literally and so unprofessionally counted the words. I just wanted to get it done with. As soon as the words count touched 500, I immediately wrapped it up and was all set to send.


All of a sudden I remembered one point related to the article that I hadn’t mentioned. When I sat down to edit, it was a surprise because I didn’t only cover that one left out point, but ended up writing a whole new article. Words just swayed in and around. I wasn’t able to stop myself from writing more because this was the time that I really had felt the urge to write. When the mind gets going, then there is no end to writing.


Your mind needs to be clear to do anything. Even for reading. If you don’t have the mood to read and are still holding a book, then chances are that you either are stuck in the same page for more than half an hour or you are just skimming the texts outwardly and not taking in anything.


Seriously, there is no point in reading a whole book without comprehending cent percent and writing a book without putting much effort in it. With an uncluttered mind and the will to finish off things in the best possible way, you can do justice to both reading and writing. Both are art. Both need to be respected and celebrated.


In simple words, loving what you are doing is the trick. I love writing and so… here I am, sharing my passion for writing:)


So as always… Happy writing:)

5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bgg_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

bottom of page